Luminary Awards


The IWF Canada Luminary Award recognizes IWF Canada members who best exemplify or have exemplified the spirit and soul of IWF Canada through their active contributions to IWF, IWF Canada and their local Chapters. Award-winning members will have illuminated IWF Canada’s vision, mission and values through their overall contributions towards advancing the role of women locally, nationally and globally.


The approach to the Canadian Award follows the IWF International Hall of Fame “constellation of honorees” approach, with 1 to 3 honorees selected each year which are honoured at an annual National-level ceremony. 


2024:  Anne Miner & Sharon Carry

2023:  Pauline Couture & Ginny Dybenko 

2022:  Françoise E. Lyon 

2021: Deborah Trudeau & Kathleen Sendall 

2020: Sandy Stash, Stella Thompson & Michèle Stanners 

2019: Shirley Dawe 

2018: Monette Malewski 

2017:  Micheline Bouchard, Ann Medina & Alison Young (posthumously) 


  • The candidate must be an IWF Canada member in good standing (unless In Memoriam) who has made a significant impact in advancing the role of women locally, nationally and globally both inside her field of endeavor and beyond.
  • The candidate should have made a lasting contribution to the IWF community.  The long-term benefit should be given priority avoiding undue weight to what may be current or of immediate media attention.
  • The candidate should be held in high esteem by her peers in IWF and in her field of endeavor and be recognized as an influential community leader locally, nationally and internationally.
  • The candidate should have contributed to enhancing the broad interests of society and of the community while actively demonstrating IWF Canada’s values and furthering IWF Canada’s mission.


The National Membership Committee Chair will select a jury of up to five IWF Canada members in good standing and with consideration towards geographical representation and diversity of backgrounds.

A call for award nominations will be communicated to our members with a 6-week timeframe to submit nominations to the National Office via an application form.  Nominations may be put forward by other members. Members may also self-nominate. It is allowed to resubmit a nominee candidature made in prior years with an updated nomination package.

The National Award Selection Committee will convene and review all applications and determine the winners within 30 days of the national Canadian membership conference. 

All efforts will be made to honour, over the years, IWF Canada members from different backgrounds, professions and geographical regions.


Please submit nominations as a single PDF to Sheila Steger, Executive Director at

The nominations deadline is April 12, 2024